By Jody MacPherson

Originally appeared in TIP (Things, Ideas, People) Syncrude Canada’s employee newsletter.

New-Forms-Eliminate-Bureaucracy-TIP-May1987

Author’s note: Back in the late 1980’s when I switched from journalism to PR, one of my first articles for Syncrude’s employee newsletter was about the company’s efforts to reduce bureaucracy.
I was pretty proud when that story was mentioned in a public relations journal out of Chicago, IL and referred to as a model for PR writing.
There’s only one problem I’ve just noticed…the journal credited the publication’s editor – happened to be a man – for the piece. I was not mentioned despite having my by-line clearly at the top of the article.
Just the beginning of a long uphill battle for equality, I guess.

Ragan-Report-Bureaucracy

Leave a comment